Music Tuesdays: Smith Westerns

I think I’m drawn to this lo-fi movement that is percolating the underbelly of indie rock because it feels so accesible. Maybe not as a listener but definitely as a creator. The stuff just sounds so horrible in quality. But for some reason I want more and more. I   am into Wavves. Not the Vivian Girls, but defiantly Real Estate. They are so dope. Like hearing some old CCR demos. So Real Estate led me to my newest find. Smith Westerns

These kids make music that sounds so old and so classic that it boggles my mind. Every retaredly shitty recording after shitty recording. But the quality doesn’t matter or maybe it fits with the aesthetic of everything else that it doesn’t matter. Because this stuff feels great. Wooo Smith Westerns. Mark my words they will be making lots of noise in the next few years.

Leave a comment

Filed under Music Discussions

Leave a Reply

